:The Salt Covenants

 

Publish Date 2015
Heritage Publishing House
ISBN: 978-0-9899707-7-8
The Salt Covenants

2015 Readers' Favorite Bronze Medal Winner, Christian-Historical Fiction

"Bambola (Rebekah's Treasure) elevates a simple historical tale into something transcendent, in this beautifully written novel about a young Jewish noblewoman, Isabel, who flees the Inquisition on Christopher Columbus's second voyage to the New World." PUBLISHERS WEEKLY starred review 12/22/14

 

"But these plans they have laid out for me like an embroidered rug, showing me where my feet must travel, is to me an awful penance for sins I did not commit." Isabel

 

Spain 1493: Isable has broken her mother's heart by becoming a sincere convert to Christianity. But when she is noticed by Friar Alonso at La Casa Santa, the Holy House, she is forced to flee the Inquisition by entering into a loveless marriage and sailing with Christopher Columbus on his second voyage to the New World. But all too soon Isabel is forced to struggle alone in her new life and new faith. With all the risks and hardships how is she to survive? And will she ever find love in this strange land? And what of the dangerous Enrique Vivar? Will his hidden agenda cost her her life?

Buy This Book

link   Amazon.com
link   Barnes and Noble
link   Books-A-Million
Find Local Bookstore:
 

Reader Comments (Submit a Comment)

 

"Bambola's gift for storytelling in this work of historical fiction is nothing short of remarkable. The reader is skillfully and masterfully drawn into this time in history in 1493 Seville during the Spanish Inquisition and the New World. A riveting tale that all comes alive while captivating the reader with passion and intrigue. The Salt Covenants is a novel you won't soon forget . . .  it has left an indelible imprint upon my heart. I highly recommend it. Truly delightful!"

Sallie Yusko
Pastor, founder of Women of Worth and Destiny, conference speaker and writer
 

"In her historical novel, The Salt Covenants, Sylvia Bambola paints a masterpiece with words. Rich in character, language, and emotion, this novel is a powerful story of love, friendship, and forgiveness. I marvel at her ability to place her characters in my heart to stay."

Micki Sorbello
Artist and free-lance writer
 

"Bambola masterfully weaves historical gleanings into this epic tale of romance and adventure set against the backdrop of the Spanish Inquisition. You won't want to put it down."

Cristana Carlton
Musician, composer, teacher and author
 

"An enthralling page-turner! Sylvia Bambola's historical novel is full of heart-felt emotion as she weaves a tale of one woman's courage, hope and love."

Gina White
mixed media artist
 

Library Journal—01/01/2015

This is not a quick read, but Bambola (Rebekah's Treasure) adeptly depicts a time and place not often explored in Christian historical fiction. Her theme of loss of ethnic culture suffered by the Jews and Native Americans should resonate with readers. Isabel is a well-developed character living in a cruel world, who never succumbs to becoming cruel herself. There may be some crossover appeal to readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir.” Margaret Bentley, Shiawassee Dist. Lib., Owosso, MI

 

 

Other Books By Sylvia Bambola

All Books